The Past/Future Bruce Letters

Picture 2

Hi Future Bruce,

It’s Past Bruce. I’m glad we’re still writing. I have to be honest, I don’t know what this e-mail stuff is that you talk about. Is it anything like the envelope I made out of construction paper and taped to my desk? My classmates drop notes in it and I read and write back when I have time. Is it like that?

Mom and Papa are finishing my Halloween costume. They made a Frankenstein head out of paper machete. Is that the right word? Don’t laugh at me if it’s wrong. I can’t wait for trick or treat! Mom said I might be able to go a few houses ahead of her and Michael this year.

So what’s the future like? I know you aren’t allowed to talk about certain things. I saw Back To The Future so I know how it works. Do you write stories in the future? We wrote a book with a cover and everything in class! We got to draw pictures, too. I think I want to do that when I’m a big person. It was so much fun. Please tell me you’re doing that!

Don’t tell mom and papa, but I already started my Christmas list. I mean, Santa’s probably busy, so if I get him my list sooner, maybe he’ll have more time to make everything on the list! And there are lots of He-Man action figures on this list, so he’s gonna need all the time. But you probably don’t play with He-Man action figures any more, right? On TV, the big people always put clothes on their Christmas list. I never want clothes for Christmas. You can’t play with clothes like you can He-Man and Thundercats. Thunder. Thunder. Thundercats … ho!

Sorry, I got kinda excited talking about Christmas. Anyway, in another month or two, the pond should be frozen and we can start sledding and ice fishing again. I included this picture of me and Cousin Jimi ice fishing last winter! Remember how fun it was running out to the tip-ups when the flag would go up? I wanna do that again! Jimi’s funny. And I looooove the snow! I wanna build snow forts so bad! But it’s too warm. So papa rakes the leaves into piles, and I jump into those instead right now.

I have to go. Write back when you have time. Oh and tell me what you’re dressing up as for Halloween, as a big person!!!

Hope you’re happy. I am.

Bye.

– Past Bruce.

4 thoughts on “The Past/Future Bruce Letters

  1. Welcome back, man. Sorry it took me this long to figure out you were back writing. I’ll link to it on Spork Nation in the near future.

Leave a comment